Incredible modular forms made out of paper by Richard Sweeney.

Richard Sweeney  gets  inspirations for his work from nature : mounds of snow and clouds are sources of inspiring ideas.  Sweeney is currently part of a touring show titled Above the fold. He’ll be showing his work at the Coda Museum in Apeldoorn this summer. What I like about it the most, is that when I look closer and focus on particular parts of these extraordinary sculptures, I see that because they are three-dimensional,  each part looks different, depending on the angle I look .  Depending if I look at the whole piece or close-up,  we perceive it in different way.

I think that these paper sculptures have potential and if developed further, could be applied to something else like furniture, architecture.

Richard-Sweeney-Bone-Paper-and-adhesive-2009Richard-Sweeney_07

Richard-Sweeney_09

Leave a comment