Over-consumption- the key issue in the Western world. Reffering to the lecture ”Making cultures”

Unhappiness at too much choice and the stress of too little money are common problems of everyone who does shopping. Desire of having more and more, excessive consumerism , which  often ends up with achieving opposite instead of giving pleasure. People are not satisfied with what they already got , as tempting and at the same time falsified commercials show new , modified products .Also cultural consumption is a sign of taste that individual has or the lack of it. Individuals in the consumer culture, speak not only with their clothes, but with their home, furnishings, decoration, car.   While I was looking at Barbara’s Kruger posters, I saw the one which appealed to me :

shoop

”I shop therefore I am” -the short sentence, layered on the top of black and white picture is similar to  the French philosopher René Descartes famous quote “Cogito ergo sum”…..”I think therefore I am”   .    My interpretation of the poster is that ,  for instance I create my outward image by buying things. Clothes, accessories, food, gadgets – it’s all about making choices. The things that I buy express myself in some point.

Consumer paradise

Commodity choice,  that Western World is feeding us with, is so big, that if often leave people with feeling unhappy because of too much of choice and because of buying to many things that we actually don’t need. A lot of brands exaggerate qualities of their products , make customers feel that it’s necessarily to have them, as it will make them feel happy . It happened to me many times, that going for shopping to buy shoes, ended up with buying a dress , even if I didn’t need it . The obsession of consumption of material goods and commodified experiences accelerates the economy .  But where is the board between rational consumerism and over-consumption?  I think  that it starts when people realize that they’ve got too many objects which they  don’t actually need and they still have desire for essential meaningless shopping.

How it refers to Barbie culture? 

I think that tempting commercials of Barbie dolls and all her accessories is linked with need of children for having all these things.  I think the picture below, which comes from The Pink and Blue Projects in terms of gendering children is perfect example of over-consumption of parents, buying too many toys for their children.

oink projec

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

