Developing and discovering ideas for theme for the poster.

Last couple of weeks I’ve been thinking what I can make the poster about.  I’ve never been interested and involved in feminist topics , until on one of the seminars, we started to talk about objectification of women and topics related to that. I found it very interesting and I started to follow some blogs and websites related to these topics. One of the blogs, which turned out to be helpful is  inequalitybyinteriordesign.wordpress.com/ . I have also started to search for examples of inequality of woman and objectification of females in visual culture, like music video clips, commercials and art. I found big range of examples and I wanted to qualify it so that I would find one theme which is the most quaint for me , and develop it.  I decided, that the number 1 will be ‘obsession of perfect body in contemporary culture ‘ . I chosen to elaborate this theme, as I feel that it’s common problem among females , and that it’s close to me in some way. I believe that everything ( or maybe almost ) has it’s own reason. I began to  search for explanation of the obsessive seeking for achieving ‘perfect weight ‘ and ‘perfect appearance’ . I think, that childhood and experience during that period has an impact on women’s self-opinion and how we perceive our outward appearance -whether we accept it as it is and feel happy or we don’t accept ourselves and constantly feel that ‘ I won’t be happy and feel comfortable in my body, unless I loose some weight. It is some kind of vicious circle, where we ( women) are like prisoners .

When I was thinking lately about my childhood, I reminded myself about toys which I used to play. I remember I used to have big collection of Barbie dolls , which were my favourite. Long, slim legs, sleek body with tiny waist and  beautiful blond hair covering spotless smiling face. These few features, were my first associations with Barbie. Now, when I look at it from the perspective of time, I can make connection with feeling disappointed sometimes with my appearance and constant desire to improve some imperfections.

barbie-300x400

I think it’s not only Barbie icon,that has impact on the `culture of obsessive loosing weight’ . Most of  high street clothes adverts for brands like River Island, Top-Shop or H&M  also choose thin models to promote their clothes. Similar situation is with mannequins in  shop displays- it’s hard to find in the crowd of people such thin and unduly shaped women.  In a nutshell, in fashion world, thin models are reigning.

 

Leave a Reply

