First steps of analysis of my chosen site and model making.

The site which I chose for my final design is the room, where I live at the moment. The space is very small and cluttered with furniture and for me – Interior design student is a problem, as I don;t have enough space to work on the projects. Arrangement of  the furniture doesn’t suit to my needs neither, as in front of the bed is a sink and the place where the desk is  doesn’t have enough of the daylight. It would be actually hard to re-arrange the furniture, as with the limited size of the space I have limited possibilities. The problem with small spaces is that if they are not designed effectively, they are not practical. That’s the exact situation with the room I live- no space for storing big pieces of paper ( which ends up on throwing not used paper to the bin, as they look damaged. Also if I had a printer , it wouldn’t fit anywhere ( unless it would be placed next to door, which make it hard to open)

I made a small model of my room with the furniture (everything has been made in scale 1:4) :

That’s the current arrangement of the room:

20150509_204426 20150509_204529

And that was the only one move that I could make to rearrange a bit , that it would suit more to my needs:

20150509_204648 20150509_204656

i didn’t make the rearrangement in real ( I just made a model of the room with furniture to see how it would look like and if it would change the room for being more practical.  Id didn’t make a big difference , beyond the fact, that the desk would have more daylight. The problem would be the entrance to the room, as there would be only small gap between the bed and door.

Leave a Reply

